Out with the Old…In with the New!

My cousin Anthony and I 🙂

Happy New Year 2012!

It’s that time again.  When the hustle and bustle of the holidays have calmed down and the anticipation of the coming of the New Year is waning. People begin to settle into their daily routines and it doesn’t appear that anything has changed.  But it has! We’ve bid farewell to an entire year and have welcomed the next with hopes for bigger and better things.

This year I had a great time celebrating New Year’s Eve, enjoying dinner and drinks with family and then counting down to the New Year with our friends of Jet Crash Billy at the Barrel Saloon.

I think the New Year appeals to us because it’s an opportunity to start fresh; to set out with a clean slate and a clear conscious for the next year.  I like the idea of embracing a whole year of possibilities; seeing new things, meeting new people, and welcoming meaning experiences. But, I find the span of an ENTIRE YEAR a bit overwhelming. I mean, how many times do you find yourself setting out to do something and actually doing it perfectly the whole way through, from start to finish? My guess is not that often. This is because we barely get everything right on the first try. Anything worth having requires the extra effort of another attempt!

After a few years of falling into the rut of making a resolution and failing in the first week, I realize I prefer to take baby steps. To take things one day at a time. After all, life is short and each minute counts. I’m bound to get derailed, encounter set backs, and feel a bit discouraged here and there…but I hate that feeling of ruining my whole plan for the year because  I messed up or got a little behind on my Resolution in February (Oh NO! March-Dec is doomed!).

So, for the 2nd year in a row my New Year’s Resolution has been to “…NOT make a New Year’s Resolution!” (Really???) Yupp! Well at least not any sort of tangible Resolution like “Lose 15 pounds” or “Buy a House” or anything like that. 2012 will hopefully afford us all with a multitude of blessings and warm wishes and I wish to r

2011 wasn’t a completely terrible year. I got a new job I had been looking for for quite some time and I made some pretty great friends. I’m lucky in many ways and I’m grateful for all that I have…but 2011 was a sad year for me so I’m certainly happy to see it blossom into 2012!!

~Jen, Sarah, Michelle, Paula, Me~

My thoughts for the coming year are simple but sweet. I’d like this year to be the year I shock myself and do something crazy athletically speaking, so I’m determined to participate in the Warrior Dash 2012. I’ve also been talking about plans to finally visit Italy so I’m going to focus all of my savings and all of my gift wish-lists this year on my Viva Italia trip that I hopefully take early next year. …That is…if I follow through with my Not-So-New-Year’s-Resolution 😉

Happy New Year and May 2012 bring all of you great joy and lots of happiness, the whole year long!

Ciao,

Charly

4 thoughts on “Out with the Old…In with the New!

  1. First, let me wish you a Happy New Year! Now into my comment; I always thought NYE resolutions were some regret from the past that was not pursued. And most of those promises I witnessed being toasted or cheered (with a drink in hand) fall flat. You have the right idea taking the small steps and not being discouraged. Setbacks often are a test in continuing your pursuit of that goal. This is all part of the dreaded maturation process that my former 20-something-self went through.

    • Hi Kyriakos,
      Thanks for the commment. Happy New Year to you as well! Oh the maturation process is certainly a friend of mine considering I’m mid 20-something. haha I hear ya….setbacks are rough but they definitely serve a purpose. They keep us motivated and encourage us to keep trucking along. I think I’m on to something with the Not-So-New-Year’s-Resolution. And now that I’ve put it in writing on internet…I think I’m bound to stick to it. haha
      I hope 2012 brings you great things!
      ttys 🙂

Leave a Reply

